Assessment is a vital part of teaching and learning, not only to gauge the progress made, to indicate areas for development but also to prepare the students for their final examinations, each department will carry out 6 annual assessments which will vary in form depending on the nature of the subject and will include written assessments, reading assessments, speaking assessments, presentations, extended writing, practical work and performance.

The students will have both formative – no marks given but areas of focus on which to work – or summative – marks given – assessments to provide clear direction and data. Summative assessments take place at the end of a unit of work and are usually a substantial piece of work. Feedback is based on the principle that in order for students to make progress, they need to know where they currently are, where they should aim and how to get there, using the assessment grids from each subject area to support progress through the academic year.

Each curriculum area has written an appendix to the assessment policy where further details of their procedures can be found.

Each subject has learning outcome grids which describe the requirements for each category and are used to give feedback to the students and to gauge the progress they are making. These are based on ARE - age related expectations, 
The ARE which is used for ‘secure’ is based on the KS2 data of 100 indicating a ‘good pass’ of a 5 at GCSE.
Foundation = working at a low level below ARE
Developing = working below ARE
Secure = working at ARE
Exceeding = working above ARE
Excelling = working high above ARE
For further information regarding assessment, see the assessment policy.

Please click on the links below to view the Learning Outcomes for years 7-9:
Share by: